The Goldfields

The Goldfields-Esperance region is located in the south-eastern corner of Western Australia and incorporates nine local government areas: the City of Kalgoorlie-Boulder and the Shires of CoolgardieDundasEsperanceLavertonLeonoraMenziesNgaanyatjarraku and Ravensthorpe. A land area of 771,276 km² makes the region over three times the size of the state of Victoria, and just under a third of Western Australia’s total land mass. It is the largest region in Western Australia.

Most of the towns and small communities of the Goldfields were built as a result of fortune-seekers flocking to Western Australia following the discovery of gold in the 1890s. Life was tough for these early gold diggers, with disease and lawlessness widespread. But while multimillion-dollar mining corporations have replaced the smaller gold prospecting operators, Kalgoorlie-Boulder has been transformed into a modern cosmopolitan town.

Reminders of the wild and vibrant early days are everywhere you look. It is bounded geographically by the Little Sandy Desert and Gibson Desert to the North; the Wheatbelt region to the West; the Great Australia Bight to the South; and the South Australian and Northern Territory borders to the East.